The Dutch Burgher Union
114, Reid Avenue, Colombo 4.
Telephone Nos: 2584511, 5331661

Newsletter – October 2006

President’s Message

Dear Fellow Member,

Looking back, I feel very proud and satisfied with all that we have achieved during the past six months. I have always said that team work is a vital ingredient to ensure success and all this would not have been possible if not for my capable and dedicated committee who rallied round me with active participation. Every Committee Member, apart from being a Chairman/Chairperson is also on various other sub-committees.

The work on the Main Hall is now complete and so are the ladies’ and gents’ toilets. The electrical wiring of the entire building will also be completed in approximately two weeks.

Jackie Anthonisz has been appointed Chairperson of the A.E.Christoffelsz Child Educational Fund and Mike Anthonisz Chairman of Catering Services. David Colin-Thome was co-opted on to the General Committee and will function as Co-ordinator of our new project “Preserving the DBU Genealogies”.

Music by Darlan every Wednesday evening is becoming more and more popular. Each Wednesday evening we find more new faces in the upstair bar/lounge area. If you haven’t already participated I would invite you to come and join the fun on a Wednesday evening.

Kem Martenstyn

Christmas Dinner Dance

For the first time the DBU is organizing a Christmas Dinner Dance as a Fund raiser on 2nd December 2006 commencing 9 p.m. Please book your tickets early to avoid disappointment, as tickets are limited. More details will follow.

98th Founder’s Day Celebrations

Graced by the presence of:

H.E. Drs Reynout van Dijk
Ambassador for the Royal Netherlands Embassy in Sri Lanka and Mrs van Dijk

Sunday, 22nd October 2006
Cocktails From 7.00 p.m. onwards at the DBU Hall, Colombo 4

Mini vegetable sandwich kebabs
Ham & Mustard Sandwiches
Hot items – Mini Mushroom & Spinach Quiche
Mini Chicken Satay with Thai Peanut butter sauce
Stuffed eggs
Chicken vol-au-vents

Action Stations – Mini Mutton Rolls
Sweet bites – Mini Fruit Tartlets

The wine and the Dutch cheese will be with the compliments of the Members of the General Committee.

Tickets at the rate of Rs.400/=per head for Members and Guests and should be purchased from the Secretariat before 18th October 2006.

Keep the date free and book early.


We have pleasure in informing our members that we now have credit card facilities both at the bar and the Secretariat.

Mr Ajit de Fonseka was instrumental in obtaining this facility for us. THANK YOU, AJIT!

Mr AIE de Kretser passes away

A former President of the DBU (1988 – 1989)

We sadly record the demise of Amyas Ivan Eustace de Kretser on 9th September 2006. He was President of The Dutch Burgher Union from 1988 to 1989.

Mr de Kretser was a long standing member of the General Committee and also Chairman of St. Nikolaas’ Home and the Social Service Committee.

We offer our heartfelt sympathies to his wife and the other members of his family.

DBU Welfare Beneficiary Sponsorship Project

On Saturday 16th August 2006 the sub-committee comprising Ms Kem Martenstyn, Mrs Fleur Mack, Ms Beverly LaBrooy and Mrs Rozanne Hemdev met and paid 11 beneficiaries Rs.1,500/= each. The remaining 3 WBs will be paid as and when they come to the Office. This is the 3rd Quarterly payment.

In order to energize more funds towards the above project, the Committee discussed the possibility of having an evening of Entertainment and Fashion for adults and children. More details will be published in our November Newsletter.

I would like to take this opportunity to mention that the prompt and generous response to the above fund, reflects the warm, united feeling in keeping with the Union Motto which our President has so successfully generated after her election.

Mrs Fleur Mack
Chairperson – DBU Welfare Beneficiary Sponsorship Project

We warmly WELCOME the following new Members, Overseas Members, Members by Invitation and Associates:
Members: Mrs June Wijayasekera, Messrs David Colin-Thome and Kenneth Arthur Honter
Overseas Members: Mrs Denise de Alwis nee Conderlaag and Mr Ian Haig Anthonisz
Members bv Invitation: Mrs Jennifer Joan Gunasekera, Messrs. Placidus Outschoorn, Rienzie Deckker, and Graham Marshall.
Associates: Ms Ulrike Jager-Fernando, Ms Averille Nathanielsz, Ms Tarini Walpola, Messrs. Praveen Abhayaratne, Nishantha Wedagedera, Malintha Ekanayake, Jehan Canagaretna, Sunil Perera, Christopher Dias, Jaliya Devendra, Christopher Paiva, Anura Upali Seneviratne, Dr Srilal Perera and Navein Danesh Perera.


We wish all our members celebrating their birthdays in October “Many Happy Returns”, especially Mrs Moira Colin-Thome, Mrs Jean Daniels, Ms Vanessa LaBrooy, Miss Niloufer Vandergert, Messrs. Braeboume Ralph Edema, Ronald Hatch, Cedric Patrick Jansz, Rodney Koelmeyer, Stephen LaBrooy, Peter Prins, Christopher Poulier, T.A.B. Speldewinde, Joseph Placidus Outschoorn, Lawry Jude Coenraad, Shiran Samuel, Giles Lucien Scott, Peter Thomasz, Romesh IIangakoon, Jimmy Deen and Piyadasa Wadugedera.

BELATED BIRTHDAY GREETINGS are also sent to Ms Beverley LaBrooy, who celebrated her birthday in September.

A small problem with our printer disrupted the printing of our Newsletter and we regret the delay.


In producing this Newsletter, every effort is made to avoid errors of any kind.
However, occasionally, errors in typing may occur and are deemed acceptable as long as they do not cause facts in the item of news or the article to be distorted.